Deconstructing Norman: “Psycho” (1998)

0000psycho     To look upon Gus Van Sant’s supposed shot-by-shot  (it’s not) remake of Alfred Hitchcock’s “Psycho” as a grand experiment is to excuse meaningless directorial hubris as a substitution for genuine artistic evolution. It is difficult to fathom what the director nor even the studio backing such an effort were thinking, but the results are predictable, something of which Hitchcock’s original could never be accused.  If the film were a result of a film school class deconstructing a classic film by way of cinematic mimeography the results could not have been any more perfunctory, disaffected and devoid of both tension and mystery. 

To read the complete review, click the following link to: https://chandlerswainreviews.wordpress.com/the-concession-stand-quick-snack-reviews/

About chandlerswainreviews

I've been a puppet, a pirate, a pauper, a poet, a pawn and a king, not necessarily in that order. My first major movie memory was being at the drive-in at about 1 1/2 yrs. old seeing "Sayonara" so I suppose an interest in film was inevitable. (For those scoring at home- good for you- I wasn't driving that evening, so no need to alert authorities.)Writer, critic and confessed spoiler of women, as I have a tendency to forget to put them back in the refrigerator. My apologies.
This entry was posted in Alfred Hitchcock, books, Film, Film Reviews, horror, movie remakes, movie reviews, Movies, Mystery, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Deconstructing Norman: “Psycho” (1998)

  1. garethrhodes says:

    The original Psycho knocked me sideways. I only watched it recently for the first time. I was impressed how alarming it was after all these years. Hitch was a true master. I must catch up with this remake, for the purposes of satisfying my curiosity.

  2. beetleypete says:

    The remakes were dire. But then again, I an not really a fan of the original. Nor Hitchcock in the main, for that matter.
    Best Wishes, Pete.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.