MONTHLY PHOTO QUIZ VOL. 441

assassinationoftrotsky

HISTORY IS OLD NEWS: SEPTEMBER CLASSIC FILM IMAGES

Ah, the good old days. Plagues, extinction level meteors, worldwide armed conflicts, the career of Elizabeth Taylor. OK, so maybe the past was hideous, filled with horrific events that will disturb Mankind until the Sun burns out (Remember “X, Y and Zee”? “The Biggest Game in Town”?), but look on the bright side: tomorrow can only be worse. And so bonnieandclydefayedunawaywarrenbeattygif1with that Hallmark sentiment in mind, its time for another meaningless episode of the Classic Film Images Quiz, brought to you by the good folks at the Smarterin U. Film School, where movie smarts are worth their weight in popcorn. This quiz is a two part puzzle in which every film depicts a significant historical event or period. Your task- and that you have chosen to apply your time to this test of brainpower, automatically demonstrates a tremendous character (good or bad remains to be determined) and a spectacular amount of free time -is to correctly identify all twelve films associated with the following photos, and (here’s the kicker) to list all of your answers in chronological order of each film’s depicted  historical occurrence, from the distant past to the present. All winners will receive a passing nod and muffled whispers of jealous derision on the campus of Smarterin U. Good luck!

#1:august11

#2:august9

#3:august1

#4:august2

#5:august7

#6:august10

#7:august5

#8:august3

#9:august6

#10:august4

#11:august12

#12:august8________________________________________________________________

To see the contest on its normal placement page, click the following link to: https://chandlerswainreviews.wordpress.com

About chandlerswainreviews

I've been a puppet, a pirate, a pauper, a poet, a pawn and a king, not necessarily in that order. My first major movie memory was being at the drive-in at about 1 1/2 yrs. old seeing "Sayonara" so I suppose an interest in film was inevitable. (For those scoring at home- good for you- I wasn't driving that evening, so no need to alert authorities.)Writer, critic and confessed spoiler of women, as I have a tendency to forget to put them back in the refrigerator. My apologies.
This entry was posted in art house cinema, cinema, Culture, Entertainment, Film, History, Italian cinema, Movies, Romance, science, war movies, women. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MONTHLY PHOTO QUIZ VOL. 441

  1. Teepee12 says:

    Okay, I can’t for the life of me figure out how to get comment box … or even the post I want to read … on your site. I thought I could figure out anything. You have beat me into submission. I don’t know how I missed that you live around the corner, but I saw the sign from George’s Surf & Turf (my husband wants to know where the “surf” is and I said, “You know, clam balls?” … I think he doesn’t consider clam balls really surfy enough to qualify) … I wanted to do some movie identifying for your historical events thingie … but I gave up because I can’t figure out how. Just saying.

    • I must confess that I designed my site based on blueprints from the Minotaur’s labyrinth, solely for the purpose of repelling pesky teen vandals at Halloween time. (No window soapings or broken egg shrapnel on-site for three years and counting.) The comment box for the Photo Quiz is actually on the very bottom of the Welcome page where the complete quiz is located, though admittedly it’s a long, long journey worthy of Phileas Fogg. In the spirit of global accommodation, I have updated the Quiz to appear in complete form directly when clicked on the Reader Page. Hope that’s a help. (Best clam balls are at Rocky Point Chowder House in Warwick, RI. Buy ’em by the bag!)

  2. Teepee12 says:

    I love awful history. It give me a sense of superiority because I’m not going to die of the plague. I need to find hope wherever I can.

    • That’s the spirit! Though to reveal my most most optimistic view of the future, I’m counting out the days until the entire Middle East- after years of creating a very large empty void where oil once sat -implodes into a giant sinkhole, the ocean waters flooding in to fill the void, and the salt water mixing badly with the molten core of the earth, exploding us into a trillion tiny pieces. (Oops, I may have just revealed Obama’s Middle East policy. Sorry.) Putting this into perspective, it rather minimizes my worry about running up my credit card bills.

Leave a Reply

